top of page

BLOG: Finding Faces

Updated: Dec 19, 2019

With the day where I pitch my idea fast approaching, I decided it was time to start reaching out to find the absolute best people to speak to that would enhance and validate my documentary from a professional perspective.


A few days ago, I reached out by posting tweets, sending e-mails and making phone calls to find someone who really knew about self-harm and the issues surrounding it. Shortly after this, I had found my first interviewee. Satveer Nijjar is a self-harm public speaker and trainer, who works nationally to deliver advice, workshops and conferences. Satveer previously won Most Inspirational Person of the Year MBCC in 2018 and formerly worked at the Royal College of Psychiatrists- the UK's leading professional organisation for psychiatric research including mental health.


After an initial phone call, we arranged to meet and now today is that day. This morning I set off to Tidmarsh in Reading to meet Satveer- a destination that we realised was easiest for us both to get to. Travelling to see, meet and interview someone you’ve never met is a daunting task, especially if you’re alone, so I took my friend Maddie with me to accompany me on my 2-hour car journey.


Following the interview, my knowledge of self harm and the issues surrounding support had been times by 100. After a long day, I feel so humbled and touched by the stories that Satveer and I shared today, tackling our own personal battles and experiences along the way. I'm truly shocked at the sheer amount I’ve learnt from her in such a short space of time, and I'm so grateful to have had this time with her, both on a professional and personal level.


You can listen to some of Satveer's advice from today just here.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page