top of page

BLOG: The Editing Process Begins

Updated: Dec 19, 2019

With most of my content now gathered, I decided it was time to start breaking down my audio to find the best bits from the interviews I'd conducted over the past couple of months to start creating my documentary.


At first, it was a case of knowing what message I wanted to put across to my listeners, and creating a rough documentary structure to help me pick out the sections I needed. After a chat with my supervisor, I looked at the Five Stage Story Structure to help me to understand how my documentary should be taking shape. By putting pen to paper, I began matching up bits of my story with each stage to work out a very brief structure of how I wanted my documentary to sound.


I felt it would work best if I started with listening through hours worth of my content, and picking out anything I thought sounded great. I found myself creating each person their own multitrack of best bits to help me to manage all of the audio!


I soon realised It's about choosing what will portray my message most effectively, and balancing ethics of language and content with capturing emotion. This is going to be tough.






31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page