top of page

BLOG: Welcome

Updated: Dec 19, 2019

Welcome to my blog- a documentation of my progress, thoughts, challenges and work during the creation of my radio documentary- Seeing Beyond The Scars: How Should We Support Those Who Self-Harm?

Self-harm is something that, sadly, seems to be on a continuous rise amongst young people in the UK, and is a topic that lays very close to my heart. In 2015, my best friend started to self-harm, and at one point, I almost lost her to suicide. When she told me what she’d been doing to herself and her deep thoughts, I froze. I cried, I panicked, I didn’t understand. But more importantly and more significantly, an overwhelming sense of fear hit me, that made me ask myself- how am I going to help her through this? According to NHS figures, over half of suicides have a history of self-harm, and I wasn’t about to let my friend be part of that statistic.



Finding my angle


I found myself replaying that memory with my best friend, and I saw an angle to the story I felt had been very under covered in the media. My documentary will be one that looks at how we should be supporting those who self-harm, in order to help family and friends increase their understanding and be able to better help somebody going through this.


At that time I felt there was a real lack of advice and direction for friends of those who self-harm, and very little information on how to actually help somebody through. When trying to get through this stage in their lives, there’s various suggestions for apps, websites, counsellors and professionals- but there are so many reasons why people might not want these, and may in fact benefit just from the comfort of someone they love and trust.

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page